About the Symposium

The theme of MISASAS V will be analyses of extra-terrestrial materials provided by sample-return missions, and insights regarding the evolution of recently sampled asteroids and meteorites, that are possible through comprehensive textural, geochemical, and geochronological analyses. We, therefore, will bring together experts from a wide range of earth, planetary, and space sciences to discuss research related to future solar system exploration in missions such as HAYABUSA 1 & 2, OSIRIS-REx, and MARS2020. We will consider recent scientific achievements investigating sample return materials, for example from Itokawa and the Chelyabinsk meteorite. Hopefully, the symposium will enable attendees to share their knowledge and gain new perspectives in this multidisciplinary setting. Our symposium is also aimed at conceptualizing future collaborative research.

Tentative session schedule:

March 6 (Fri)

11:00- The registration desk open at BlancArt Misasa.

14:00-18:00 Analysis of rocks delivered by geologist … or space mission

18:30- The ice break party at BlancArt Misasa

March 7 (Sat.)

09:00-12:00 The Chelyabinsk meteorite as representative recent asteroid

12:00-14:00 Lunch & Core time of the poster session

14:00-18:00 Habitability frontier on large and small bodies

18:30- The banquet at BlancArt Misasa

March 8 (Sun.)

09:00-12:00 Further Solar exploration focusing geology

12:00-13:00 Lunch time

13:00-17:00 Keep your analysis and material for the references

Potential lecturers:

  • James DARLING (University of Portsmouth)
  • Ian FRANCHI (Open University)
  • Victor GROKHOVSKIY (REC Nanomaterials and Nanotechnologies/Ural Federal University)
  • Tak KUNIHIRO (ISEI/Okayama University)
  • Dante LAURETTA (University of Arizona)
  • Jeremie LASUE (Paul Sabatier University)
  • Éric LEWIN (Institut des Sciences de la Terre, Universite Grenoble)
  • Shigenori MARUYAMA (ELSI, Tokyo Institute of Technology)
  • Keiko Nakamura-MESSENGER (JSC/NASA)
  • Eizo NAKAMURA (ISEI/Okayama University)
  • Yasuhito SEKINE (University of Tokyo)
  • Steven SQUYRES (Cornell University)
  • Satoshi TANAKA (ISAS/JAXA)
  • Sei-ichiro WATANABE (Nagoya University)
  • Akira YAMAGUCHI (National Institute of Polar Research)
  • Alexander ZAKHAROV (Space Research Institute, RAS)

*List in alphabetical orders

Venue of the symposium:

The workshop will take place at BlancArt Misasa (388-1, Misasa, Misasa-cho, Tottori 682-0123, Japan)


Leave your comment


Required. Not published.

If you have one.